How many Gigabytes/Terabytes do your sample libraries total?

Discussion in 'Acoustic & Orchestral instruments' started by dougj7, Dec 27, 2018.

  1. Robo Rivard

    Robo Rivard Senior Member

    523
    528
    May 11, 2016
    Québec
    I remember feeling like a filthy greedy capitalist back in 1985, when I had a show box full of cassette tapes... Now I have a 2 TB SSD full of libraries, and I guess I should feel the same. It's too much for a hobbyist. But then... is it?
     
    dzilizzi likes this.
  2. Uiroo

    Uiroo New Member

    39
    42
    Nov 6, 2018
    So far, my standard procedure for everything i buy has been to add it to my existing cubase template, writing down the keychanges in the notes of the inspector, purge and patch resave, and then disabling and hiding the new tracks.
    I find it to be the best way i've seen, because you start with a blank project because all tracks are disabled and hidden, but you've got everything ready and set up. All you need to do is press ctrl-f and type in the instrument you want to use.
     
    Grizzlymv, InLight-Tone and dzilizzi like this.
  3. GtrString

    GtrString Active Member

    383
    258
    Dec 10, 2016
    Denmark
    I have about 2tb's of libraries, then another two with projects. I hope SSDs get cheaper soon, as I'd love to have a 10tb SSD (and another for backup).
     
  4. chocobitz825

    chocobitz825 Senior Member

    511
    447
    Aug 7, 2018
    You bring up a good point. I’ve made no major efforts to sort my uvi, spectrasonic or korg libraries. Eventually it may benefit me to go deeper into my DAW (studio one in my case) to find a more complete organizational method.
     
  5. stonzthro

    stonzthro Senior Member

    1,302
    317
    Oct 7, 2009
    Westwood, CA
    I have far too many patches to make that approach work. In Cubase you can save not only expression maps and notes in your patches, which is fantastic; Logic won’t save notes, which is really stupid! If this works for you, then awesome! In Cubase I think you can just save all you’ve created individually as patches if you ever want to convert over to a system like what I’m talking about.

    It really is amazing how flexible these DAWs are!
     
  6. Uiroo

    Uiroo New Member

    39
    42
    Nov 6, 2018
    You mean track presets, right? I thought about it too, but i don't see any advantages.
    Why do you think you to many patches for that approach? I think we kind of do the same, just in a different way.
     
  7. Hywel

    Hywel Finally... an SSD for samples!

    131
    81
    Aug 1, 2015
    UK
    Just bought CSB and there are a total of 9 patches that one needs tracks for in a project (assuming use of expression maps for articulation switching). However SFA Albion One must have hundreds of patches - would you add ALL of those or would you just add a few and launch others from within them?
     
  8. ScarletJerry

    ScarletJerry Active Member

    275
    215
    Feb 16, 2014
    I just cleaned up my library after buying some new instruments during the recent holiday sales. All of my core libraries fit on the 500 GB SSD in my laptop. The other lesser used instruments (mostly pads and free libraries) now sit on a small 500 GB external SSD. Although I certainly will WANT more libraries in the future, the bottom line is that I have everything that I NEED to create great music. Sometimes, having abundant choices can actually inhibit creativity.

    On a related note, i’m trying to squeeze some extra space out of my internal drive. I was thinking of deleting all or most of the Kontakt factory library. Has anyone ever done that?

    Scarlet Jerry
     
    dzilizzi likes this.
  9. mickeyl

    mickeyl Dr. Mickey Lauer

    THIS!
     
  10. Uiroo

    Uiroo New Member

    39
    42
    Nov 6, 2018
    Well, for the Albion Orchestra i have 55 tracks in my template, and because i use keyswitches i think that covers almost everything. There's some stuff like the COG patches that i havent included.
    For the sounddesign i just added a track for each folder, so one being CHX Brunel Presets, another would be Extreme Warped Brunels and so on.

    The nice thing is i don't need to care how big my template grows, i start with all tracks hidden and only make the tracks i want to use visible.
    I think Junkie XL does it similar, his template has more than 2000 tracks.
     
  11. Uiroo

    Uiroo New Member

    39
    42
    Nov 6, 2018
     
    Henu likes this.
  12. stonzthro

    stonzthro Senior Member

    1,302
    317
    Oct 7, 2009
    Westwood, CA
    I can imagine I would have upwards of 8-10k tracks if I had all my patches in a single template - 20 more years it would easily double that. That approach doesn't work for my small mind, but again, if it works for you, and you see it as a way to continually expand - that's great!

    Sorry for the extreme derail OP - I'm now up to 6.4 TB...
     
  13. Grizzlymv

    Grizzlymv Active Member

    448
    250
    Apr 12, 2016
    Canada
    I do the same thing over here. but first thing I do is a review of the library in it's entirety at first, spot the patches that I like or think can have cool potential, even with fx on it, then add them in the template with maybe a quick note in the editor or in the track name so I know at first glance some usage for it I experimented during my review. For instance, a drone patch may sounds ok in normal keys but when you bring it to high notes with some pitch bend, it turns out a very nice sound to add tension.
    Then it will either go in my VEP or Cubase template as disabled track, depending if I need it regularly and if I might need to apply fx or play with it's Paramus. Regular use with no edit will go in vep, the rest stays in Cubase.

    I find it useful to have my stuff at my fingertips, ready to go rather than explore my drives and spend my time loading libs as needed. That way my time is mostly spent in creating and follow the inspiration. ;)
     
  14. Shad0wLandsUK

    Shad0wLandsUK Senior Member

    1,021
    509
    Feb 20, 2016
    London, UK
    Its not really an honest analysis though, because SF libraries are huge as are OT ones, with others being smaller but just as expensive.

    So you could have taken up far less GBs, but have spent the same if not more ;)
     
  15. Shad0wLandsUK

    Shad0wLandsUK Senior Member

    1,021
    509
    Feb 20, 2016
    London, UK
    Slightly off topic... it you can save notes in Cubase patches??
    Any tutorials you know on patch saving and best practice?
     
  16. stonzthro

    stonzthro Senior Member

    1,302
    317
    Oct 7, 2009
    Westwood, CA
    When I was toying with switching to Cubase I discovered this, but can't really remember much. Google and I'm sure you'll find someone with a tutorial on the topic.
     
    Shad0wLandsUK likes this.
  17. mertas

    mertas New Member

    2
    0
    Jan 14, 2019
    is it possible to connect more external SSD via USB powered hub, anyone using?
     
  18. jbuhler

    jbuhler Senior Member

    1,641
    2,316
    Jun 19, 2016
    US
    I’ve not tried running multiple SSDs through a USB hub, but I do use a USB enclosure that has two bays without incidence. Give it a try. Do make sure that the hub is a USB3.
     
  19. VinRice

    VinRice ... i am a robot ...

    606
    558
    May 20, 2017
    The UK of Englandshire
    4TB's now, but it's tight and a move to 6 is imminent. I've moved to Cubase precisely because I can create a track for everything and then unload. The process has helped a lot since I had to go through everything I possessed and discovered a few gems that I had forgotten about. Having all the tracks there helps me remember now. Every new library gets tested and then put into the template.

    You have to be a little careful re-loading libraries, too many at a time and Cubase/Kontakt can go into a bit of a CPU spike death cycle. The Kontakt 6 player seems to be a little better in this regard so now I'm moving everything to K6 where possible. Wish I had though of that at the beginning of the process.

    Out of a 1000-odd tracks only 50-100 are ever loaded for a particular piece so memory is never really an issue. This was always a problem in Logic. I still mix in Logic though since it is so efficient with plug-ins and I find separating the two processes very beneficial. If I can get the raw orchestration to sound acceptable then I know it's only going to get better in the mix. There's a bit of a natural tendency to 'produce' while writing and by removing that temptation I find I'm concentrating on the actual notes much more.
     
  20. VinRice

    VinRice ... i am a robot ...

    606
    558
    May 20, 2017
    The UK of Englandshire
    Works fine here.
     

Share This Page