How are these kinds of demoic voice effects made?

MartinH.

I just started playing this game and was quite impressed by the sound effects of the voices in the intro and in the game. I'm curious how you would approach setting up an fx chain to get such effects. Any ideas?

From past experiments and googling I can say that among the things that I would test are these:
- NI Razor used as a vocoder (probably as a send effect instead of insert)
- pitch shifting with Reaper's ReaPitch (down a lot and back up a bit less seems to introduce interesting artifacts)
- NI Reflektor with some reversed IRs to get weird echoy effects
- reverb

Do you know any good tricks to add sub harmonic frequencies? Lowender is the only plugin I know of, that does something like that, but I don't have it. Does it ever go on sale? Are there any alternatives?

wst3

my office these days
The list of things one can do to the human voice is probably endless.

In this case I believe I hear some distortion, some subtle vocoding, a slight delay, some pitch shifting, and maybe a light reverb.

Really, just use what you have on hand and start mutilating a voice-over. It is fun!

If you are in a real rush check out Krotos - they have tools that do all the processing in one plugin.

karelpsota

http://karelpsota.com/
Well there's 2 voices:
1 is the original pitch with distortion compression
2 is an octave below with formant shifting, could be where the vocoder comes in. (which would also make sense from a mixing standpoint, as vocoder "clean up" the harmonics)

I'm also hearing some reverse reverb near the end.

Very cool sound overall!

OP
M

MartinH.

Great replies so far, thanks a lot!

Almost certainly one of the Krotos plug-ins. They seem to becoming an industry standard.
I've not had a chance to listen to the WH40K sounds yet but I think something like Dehumaniser from Krotus may be the thing to try. https://www.krotosaudio.com/