What's new

Hi all, from Reading UK

tomwolfe

Hi everyone, recently came across the forum and thought I'd get involved! I've been producing music for the last 13 years, and have been working in this field for the last 8. I currently run tomwolfe.co.uk - where I sell a number of sound packs designed for film composition, and I also occasionally score films myself!

Looking forward to getting involved!

chrisr

Hi Tom, and welcome - I lived and worked in Reading for several years in my 20's (around the millenium). My first audio engineer job was at a little studio on the Oxford Rd and now more than ever it's looking like a decent town for a London commute with cross-rail happening. Have some very fond memories of the place.

OP
tomwolfe

tomwolfe

Thanks! Was that Outhouse Studios, just off the Oxford Road? Yeah it is a nice town, pricey being on the edge of London, but got a good soul to it!

chrisr

Nope it was an audio-post place, called Matinee, just near the old swimming pool. They've re-positioned themselves now (some years later) to just serving the foreign voicing/reversioning market, which proved to be their most profitable area of business it seems.

There used to be a really great residential studio just out of town, up at hook-end, but unfortunately it closed in somewhat tragic circumstances. An old friend of mine was the studio manager there for a while - had some fantastic stories about it - from a (seemingly well attended!) naked recording session (as an employee who didn't have any choice about attending, he was allowed to wear shorts) to particular band kicking in the office door one night to steal loose change to score drugs! Long gone now unfortunately - as have many residential studios :(

OP
tomwolfe

tomwolfe