Help with Cubase 10, Kontakt (5 or 6), and Controller

Discussion in 'Your DAW (Digital Audio Workstation)' started by husker, Jan 10, 2019.

1. husker

husker Member

Nov 22, 2017
    Greetings,

I'm hoping someone here can help me, as my problem is related to Cubase, Kontakt, and orchestral VSTs (probably a common combination here on VI-Control). From the outset, I am a hobbyist (and a relatively new one), so forgive my lack of knowledge or incorrect terminology.

I have a Roland FA08 as a controller, and my issue is regarding the modwheel. The modwheel on the FA08 is a common configuration - you push up or down for mod, left and right for pitch bend.

1) While in Kontakt I load up, say for example, NI Symphony Series strings or Cinematic Studio Strings. When I move the modwheel up and down, the volume/expression (whatever happens to be mapped by default to the modwheel) works perfectly. I can see on the Kontakt instance the modwheel moves up and down, and I can hear the volume/expression changing. Everything works perfectly.

2) I record a simple part. IF I use the modwheel during the recording, the volume/expression is recorded along with the part. I can see that "data" overlayed on the midi part (I haven't figured out why it overlays this data - I'm still learning Cubase).

This is what does NOT work:

I often want to simply record a part (focusing on the performance), then automate the volume/expression via an automation track. If I record the part without the modwheel data, then add an automation track for volume/expression, the modwheel will not work. I've tried adding all kinds of tracks related to that data, Midi channel automation tracks (CC1 Modulation, CC11 - Expression), Kontakt automation tracks (e.g. Volume - CSS 1s), and nothing works. I obviously can draw in the data, but I'd really like to use the modwheel.

What I just don't understand is why it would work while I record the initial part, but not on an automation track.