What's new

Help me build a learning plan? | where to even begin (any advice welcome)

whiskers

Perpetual student
HELP I'VE TRIED NOTHING AND I'M ALL OUT OF IDEAS! (jk)

First off, apologies for the wall of text. Thanks in advance to anyone who ventures through this whole thing. This is gonna be a bit verbose, but I'd rather be thorough than not.

I was hoping if people may be so kind as to give feedback on where to even begin when learning to compose and utilize VSTs, etc. I'm a complete noob to all of this.

Figured it would be beneficial to ask others' inputs on this, especially for those of you who have gone through the whole trial and error phase and figured out a lot of stuff from the ground up. I know that much of this is a rather 'find what works for you' process, but having next to no idea of where to start, figured it would be good to get some pointers.

Basically, I'm just wanting to get some pointers of where and what to focus on learning first, and perhaps some advice you wish you had known when you were starting out.

First off, some background: I'm not in any way in a music-related field, i'm in IT. Meaning I have very little theory knowledge, aside from the basics that a few years of piano in middle school got me. I grew up listening to soundtracks, figured music wasn't much of a 'stable'/fitting career, so went into tech. Eventually got to the point where I said 'F it, always wanted to make music, so why not?' Got Cubase and a MIDI controller. Then didn't do anything with it. (Pointless, I know.)

Fast forward a few years. Here I am again. I just got Komplete and a few other libraries and was hoping to approach this in a structured manner. I recognize that this learning will take some time (well, it's continuous) before it starts to pay off and i'm able to make any tracks anywhere close to releasable. That being said, here was the basic order I was thinking of approaching stuff in