First piece I'm willing to share

samuel.beliveau

Newb Member
Hi everyone, I've started composing music a few months ago and this is the first piece that I'm proud enough to share :) . It's quite short, but each attempt to make it longer failed, so I kept it as it is.

I'm a beginner to this and a self-learner with no music background, so any feedback would be appreciated. You can tell me the harsh truths if needed, as long as you can tell me how to improve.

For those of you who will take the time to listen (and maybe comment), thanks in advance :).

toddkreuz

Do you know how to get midi scores and import them into you DAW?

I think that's a great way to start the learning process.

OP
samuel.beliveau

samuel.beliveau

Newb Member
Do you know how to get midi scores and import them into you DAW?

I think that's a great way to start the learning process.
Not really, where would you get them? Which ones would make sense for a beginner?

Bear in mind, I've not even scratched the surface of:
- Melodies
- Harmony
- Composition
- Using the VIs correctly (+ articulations)
- Mixing
- etc.

(or so I think...)

So it's a matter of knowing where I should go next based on that piece which represent the best I've done so far :) .

toddkreuz

This is the site i started with many years ago https://www.classicalarchives.com/

But i already had a significant music background.

Check this thread from this forum too. https://vi-control.net/community/threads/websites-for-orchestral-midi-files.51689/

I think aside from studying midi/scores in your DAW and deconstructing them, i would say
its important to learn to play music, IE = learn to play an instrument. When you start to
get good, then start learning music theory basics, intervals, etc. Then start learning
to improvise. For me, composition starts with improvisation. In fact, i can't really think
of another way to compose anything. The term "Music" i believe comes from the word "Muse"