FaderCtrl

Discussion in 'GEAR Talk Forum' started by CACKLAND, Jan 2, 2017.

  1. N.Caffrey

    N.Caffrey Senior Member

    669
    428
    Mar 15, 2016
    does anybody know what happened to the OP? so strange to see a successful product abandoned.
     
  2. johnbusbymusic

    johnbusbymusic Musician/Composer

    632
    561
    Oct 10, 2016
    Mississippi
    it's weird, he just kind of .....
    faded?
     
  3. N.Caffrey

    N.Caffrey Senior Member

    669
    428
    Mar 15, 2016
    FadedCtrl
     
    johnbusbymusic likes this.
  4. Smikes77

    Smikes77 My Avatar looks just like me

    780
    378
    Oct 13, 2014
    Brighton, UK
    I emailed him a while back with a small issue, but never heard back. I got it fixed, but a shame he`s not around anymore. Unless he`s hand delivering all the units that were ordered...
     
  5. Mike Marino

    Mike Marino Senior Member

    1,779
    151
    Nov 3, 2010
    Orlando, Fl.
    My FaderCtrl software app stop working a long time ago. When I open the app all 8 of the midi cc boxes appear but nothing happens when I drag them up or down; they can't be edited any more. FaderCtrl works as designed in my DAW however I just have to manually assign each fader for each instrument (instead of already having things set globally via the app).

    I did report this issue to Cackland via email. His recommendation was that I scrap the entire app, redownload, and reinstall (which I tried multiple times). It still doesn't work and he didn't have any further info for me at that time.

    Anybody else having this problem or know of a possible fix?

    Sierra 10.12.6
     
  6. windshore

    windshore Senior Member

    973
    55
    Aug 27, 2008
    Los Angeles
    If someone who has time and is industrious wants to look further to resolve or modify their FaderCtrl... I may have a path for them to follow. In troubleshooting my setup with Cory he had me download bit of software from here and once you take a look some lights will turn on... possibly. https://www.arduino.cc
     
    Mike Marino likes this.
  7. Jeffrey Peterson

    Jeffrey Peterson Active Member

    401
    37
    Jul 20, 2010
    What is the software used for this? I haven't used it for awhile and now have forgotten how to program in the CC's.
     
  8. samphony

    samphony Senior Member

    1,348
    428
    Nov 19, 2013
    It’s called FADERCNTRL
     
  9. babylonwaves

    babylonwaves Senior Member

    882
    548
    May 9, 2015
    just in case there are some settings you didn't wipe before re-installing you might want to install the software another computer and see, if it works there. if it doesn't it's probably some state saved inside the faderCTRL which causes the issue.
     
    Mike Marino likes this.
  10. bigisland

    bigisland New Member

    11
    1
    Feb 11, 2016
    So is this product not available anymore...?
     
  11. stonzthro

    stonzthro Senior Member

    1,302
    317
    Oct 7, 2009
    Westwood, CA
    No - the dev seems to have ceased all communication. I don't know why.
     
  12. zvenx

    zvenx Senior Member

    I am so glad he raised the price. A few months ago (January actually) I was ready to buy two, but then he informed me the price had been raised by I think $45 each......which then became over my budget. (I had budgeted $500+ shipping stateside, but it ended up $652 for the two). So I didn't order them.
    Someone was looking out for me :) (and I am an atheist :) )

    rsp
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2018
  13. Mike Marino

    Mike Marino Senior Member

    1,779
    151
    Nov 3, 2010
    Orlando, Fl.
    He was having small orders built during the process so it may be that the manufacturing costs increased in the event that the amount of units in that order were too small. Possible at least.
     
  14. zvenx

    zvenx Senior Member

    Not sure if this was in response to me.
    Sure, he can raise the price if he needed to. For me it was not what I budgeted for. So I passed.
    Turns out to be a blessing.
    rsp
     
  15. Ashermusic

    Ashermusic Senior Member

    7,111
    3,377
    Mar 27, 2006
    Los Angeles
    No it wasn't. I have it and it works really well, software is so easy I could teach my dog to set it up.
     
    bly and Anders Wall like this.
  16. willbedford

    willbedford Composer/Programmer

    521
    722
    Nov 16, 2014
    Huddersfield
    I've had no trouble with mine either. Set up the CCs when I first got it - never had to touch the software since.
     
  17. zvenx

    zvenx Senior Member

    Are you not seeing the issues reported in this thread with the hardware with zero support? You may be in the lucky camp. I may not have been.
    It can't possibly be a good thing to buy hardware that becomes unsupported a few months later that very year with the company goes Mia.



    Rsp
     
  18. ironbut

    ironbut Active Member

    372
    154
    Jun 9, 2015
    eugene or
    The software is so easy, I did teach my dog to do it!
    Seriously, this is as easy as it gets and the hardware is like "budda"!
    Mine works perfectly.
    Thanks Cory!!!
     
  19. Mike Marino

    Mike Marino Senior Member

    1,779
    151
    Nov 3, 2010
    Orlando, Fl.
    Hardware is great here. Software no longer functions.
     
  20. Geoff Grace

    Geoff Grace Senior Member

    959
    1,123
    Apr 15, 2009
    True, you may have gotten one of the problem units; and (for the time being at least, by all indications) there would have been no support if you had.

    But it can possibly be a good thing to buy hardware that becomes unsupported—if your hardware never needs support. In fact, I'd say the best possible outcome is to buy hardware that never needs support. It appears that most of these units have fallen into that category, so far. Granted, it's still early yet.

    Best,

    Geoff
     

Share This Page