1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FaderCtrl

Discussion in 'GEAR Talk Forum' started by CACKLAND, Jan 2, 2017.

  1. Living Fossil

    Living Fossil Senior Member

    783
    517
    Oct 20, 2014
    Yes, I use it as a substitute for a breath controller! :)
     
    kgdrum likes this.
  2. samphony

    samphony Senior Member

    1,210
    358
    Nov 19, 2013
    There are many ways building a desk and to build your keyboard and controllers into. My desk is height adjustable and I wanted easy access to everything for maintenance reasons.
     
  3. Vanni

    Vanni Senior Member

    91
    46
    Nov 21, 2015
    Guys,
    Is anyone experiencing random midi data being continuously sent without user input?

    After a few months without any issue my faderctrl is starting to act funky, it basically keeps sending midi data without me touching it. This obviously make it unusable as I end up with completely messed up recordings (and also screws up things while playing).

    It’s not a vibrations problem or anything like that.

    Thanks,

    Vanni
     
    Puzzlefactory likes this.
  4. Mike Marino

    Mike Marino Senior Member

    1,741
    130
    Nov 3, 2010
    Orlando, Fl.
    Haven't experienced that problem before.

    The hardware works fine for me; the FaderCtrl software no longer works here.
     
  5. Leandro Z

    Leandro Z Member

    7
    1
    Mar 20, 2018
    Hi everybody! Any news on new stock of the FaderCtrl? I might be interested in getting one! But Im in Argentina.
    Thanks!
    L.
     
  6. Leandro Z

    Leandro Z Member

    7
    1
    Mar 20, 2018
    If anybody is thinking about selling their FaderCtrl unit please let me know. Im interested. Thanks!
     
  7. thevisi0nary

    thevisi0nary Senior Member

    117
    36
    Jan 17, 2018
    I have to ask you... what is your setup there with that midi keyboard?
     
  8. samphony

    samphony Senior Member

    1,210
    358
    Nov 19, 2013
    It is the Fatar keybed from my Doepfer LMK4+
     
  9. thevisi0nary

    thevisi0nary Senior Member

    117
    36
    Jan 17, 2018
    Wow that is seriously cool. I was going nuts for a good month trying to find a keyboard that fit the ratio of quality keys vs slim enough to fit on my desk (it's higher than my qwerty keyboard so it couldnt be more than 2-3 inches to play comfortably). I think may try your method out. Did you just take the keybed out of the Doepfer? How do you have the wires and electronics set up, are they just free hanging in the back?
     
  10. samphony

    samphony Senior Member

    1,210
    358
    Nov 19, 2013
    You can buy the parts separately. I shot my doepfer lmk4+ about 5-6 years ago at eBay for €600. Only to take it apart and build it into a desk.

    As I’m not the most talented carpenter it was the only version I could pull of but it turned out to be really useful.

    And to be honest the doepfer controller unit was never of use to me as I’ve used the peavey 1600x until @CACKLAND pulled of the FADERCTRL and since then my plan was to replace the doepfer slider and modwheel unit with that.
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2018
  11. Ethos

    Ethos Senior Member

    I also took mine apart and built it into my Argosy desk.
     

    Attached Files:

    camelot, LowweeK and Mark Stothard like this.
  12. thevisi0nary

    thevisi0nary Senior Member

    117
    36
    Jan 17, 2018
    Wow that set up is awesome!! I really have to look at doing something like this. How do you route the electronics?
     
    Ethos likes this.
  13. samphony

    samphony Senior Member

    1,210
    358
    Nov 19, 2013
    I like your desk! The other challenge I had to tackle was to build mine on top of that sit/stand desk frame.
     
    Ethos likes this.
  14. BradHoyt

    BradHoyt Senior Member

    I think I have all I need at this point... :)


    [​IMG]

    Thanks Cackland!
     
    bly, puremusic and Dale Turner like this.
  15. Dale Turner

    Dale Turner Active Member

    37
    19
    Dec 24, 2015
    (*Plop*) Following this thread for any ups of dateness.
     
  16. Tiko

    Tiko Senior Member

    54
    29
    Apr 4, 2013
    Finland
    Anyone else have sticky faders? Any recommendations?
     
  17. BradHoyt

    BradHoyt Senior Member

    I'm using Cubase and am having similar issues. Have you found a solution?
    Thanks!
     
    Puzzlefactory likes this.
  18. Vanni

    Vanni Senior Member

    91
    46
    Nov 21, 2015
    +1, same issue. I’m pretty sure it’s a hardware problem, my unit is now a brick.
    Tried so send a message to cackland but no answer I’m afraid.
     
    Puzzlefactory likes this.
  19. synthpunk

    synthpunk Senior Member

    5,766
    4,093
    Mar 3, 2015
    I have no affiliation with this project but would recommend Caig Calilube (now called Faderlube) spray. You can usually find this at your local Guitar Center or order it online from Parts Express. Use the straw to spray into the fader mechanism and work the fader for a few days and that should loosen it up if not you will need to take the unit and faders apart and clean them more thoroughly or replace them.

     
    Last edited: May 1, 2018
    Tiko likes this.
  20. hotsizzlemusic

    hotsizzlemusic Member

    18
    1
    Feb 7, 2012
    Los Angeles
    Unfortunately, the same thing is happening with my unit. Both in Pro Tools and Digital Performer. Ive had to unplug it and not use it anymore.

     
    Puzzlefactory likes this.

Share This Page