EastWest PLAY 6

Discussion in 'SAMPLE Talk' started by George Bellas, Nov 24, 2017.

  1. Guffy

    Guffy Fugdup

    503
    380
    Sep 13, 2013
    Norway
    Anyone else having issues with Cubase 9 and Play 6?
    The 64bit version of the VST2 plugin gets blacklisted, and fails to reconnect.
    The VST3 version crashes upon loading, with the message "A serious error has occured" and crashes the audio driver at the same time..
     
  2. Jaap

    Jaap Yes, that's an alto flute

    Cubase 9 or 9.5? It runs here without problems on 9.5
     
  3. Guffy

    Guffy Fugdup

    503
    380
    Sep 13, 2013
    Norway
    Cubase 9.
    I know someone else that runs Play 6 without issues in Cubase 9, so there might be something else causing it.. Can't figure it out.
     
  4. Dominik Raab

    Dominik Raab Active Member

    335
    117
    Apr 29, 2011
    Let me guess - you didn't restart your computer after installing the iLok drivers that come with the PLAY 6 setup? Did the same thing, had the same result. Worked flawlessly after a restart. ;)
     
    Shad0wLandsUK likes this.
  5. Orchestrata

    Orchestrata Member

    112
    61
    Dec 19, 2015
    Quickly tried PLAY 6 in Cubase 9.0.20 here, no issues, thankfully. Hope support can help you out.
     
  6. Guffy

    Guffy Fugdup

    503
    380
    Sep 13, 2013
    Norway
    Hehe. You're right, i tried first before restarting. But had the same result after a restart :\
    But thanks guys, i'll contact EW :)
     
  7. LHall

    LHall Active Member

    418
    201
    May 5, 2005
    Music City
    I hope they get a disclaimer on the download page really quickly about the fact that this is a PAID update. I saw here that it was available for download yesterday so I went directly to the download page like I always do and downloaded and installed it. But wait, it says it needs a license! So today I'll pony up the 30 bucks so I can keep working. Pretty frustrating. Nothing about that at all on the download page. So if you haven't happened to start on the sales page it's easy to miss.
     
  8. Dominik Raab

    Dominik Raab Active Member

    335
    117
    Apr 29, 2011
    Maybe they edited the support/download page after you downloaded it, but now it says:

     
  9. LHall

    LHall Active Member

    418
    201
    May 5, 2005
    Music City
    Yep - I don't believe that was there last night. Glad it's there now. If it was and I just missed it, my apologies. But when I mentioned it to Michael he said that all the pages had not yet been updated.
     
  10. shomynik

    shomynik Active Member

    332
    120
    Aug 29, 2016
    Germany
    Anybody tried the purge function? Is it the same as in ver5?
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2017
    Audio Birdi likes this.
  11. Stevie

    Stevie Senior Member

    1,339
    82
    Oct 20, 2007
    So are there any performance improvements compared to Play 5?
    If not, I don't see a reason to upgrade...
     
  12. OleJoergensen

    OleJoergensen Senior Member

    731
    272
    Jul 16, 2015
    Denmark
    On windows 10 pro, within Ve-Pro, I do see improved load speed. Play 5 was around 180 MB/s. Play 6 is around 270 MB/s :).
     
    Audio Birdi, Stevie and George Bellas like this.
  13. OP
    OP
    George Bellas

    George Bellas Member

    66
    79
    Jul 24, 2017
    On a Mac I'm seeing faster load times with VE Pro too. First time I loaded up a template I was surprised at how much sooner it was ready to go.
     
    Stevie likes this.
  14. OleJoergensen

    OleJoergensen Senior Member

    731
    272
    Jul 16, 2015
    Denmark
    Play 6 crashes on my Mac :-/, newest version.
     
  15. Stevie

    Stevie Senior Member

    1,339
    82
    Oct 20, 2007
    Awesome, thanks guys!
     
  16. OleJoergensen

    OleJoergensen Senior Member

    731
    272
    Jul 16, 2015
    Denmark
    East West are on to it- just mailed a crash report...
     
  17. Stevie

    Stevie Senior Member

    1,339
    82
    Oct 20, 2007
    Not a good headstart...
     
  18. OP
    OP
    George Bellas

    George Bellas Member

    66
    79
    Jul 24, 2017
    I too am experiencing the same issue; weird crackly artifacts using the built-in reverb in PLAY 6 (not the crackles related to a stressed system).
     
  19. dcoscina

    dcoscina Senior Member

    4,180
    1,058
    Nov 16, 2004
    No problems here on my MB Air 11" running El Capitan.
     
  20. Ashermusic

    Ashermusic Senior Member

    7,087
    3,346
    Mar 27, 2006
    Los Angeles
    No problems here in Logic Pro X or VE Pro 6 on my late 2012 iMac.
     

Share This Page