What's new

Disklaviers and other Acoustic Piano Playback

squashteam

I am a proficient pianist, and in the market for a new upright that records well - though I am seriously considering whether it makes sense as a film composer to buy a more technically advanced piano that works well with my DAW, etc.

I am curious if anyone has experience with a disklavier or similar acoustic piano playback (Steinway Pianodisk, Kawai Aures). My goal is to create audio recordings of my piano performances - with the convenience of midi and of course the ability to have a piano perform pieces that are beyond my ability (fast tempos, without mistakes, i.e. "perfect" performances).

I'm hoping to try out the Kawai Aures in a showroom soon - but I don't believe it will be possible to test the midi playback from a DAW - so I'm particularly interested if anyone has that sort of experience to share. Has this sort of instrument fit into a professional workflow?

Thanks!

musicalweather

I’m a trained classical pianist and film composer. Years ago I had a job editing midi for a pianist who created performances for the Yamaha Disklavier. These were piano performances that would accompany a commercial cd that the consumer would put in the Yamaha’s disc player. So the consumer would get a piano play along to Destiny’s Child or Tony Bennet, etc…. As he created these, he would play the acoustic piano, not trigger a sampled piano library. The pianist recorded his performances into a DAW (DP, in this case) and that’s where I would edit the midi. The playback of the midi files to the acoustic piano would work just fine.