Cubase vs logic... is hans zimmer right?

Discussion in 'Your DAW (Digital Audio Workstation)' started by MarcelM, May 11, 2019.

  1. Dewdman42

    Dewdman42 Senior Member

    1,759
    794
    Oct 28, 2016
    Here's a much shorter, yet insightful video:
     
    dsblais, dzilizzi, Ben and 4 others like this.
  2. karelpsota

    karelpsota http://karelpsota.com/

    320
    532
    Jul 26, 2013
    Los Angeles
    (OMG Thank you, I was looking for this videos for years now. I love how these guys are "zero BS" )
     
    NoamL and Dewdman42 like this.
  3. shomynik

    shomynik Active Member

    332
    120
    Aug 29, 2016
    Germany
    It seems that Logic has some kind of analog mixing desk simulation goin on. By pushing Gain (in the inspector on the left) saturation algo is in process.

    I recently discovered this by sending somewhat low volume Cubase tracks to a friend for mixing and I expected from him to just add Gain - a pure gain like Pro Tools Clip Gain (Cubase has a similar thing). But being not experienced he used this gain feature in logic that made a mess.

    Maybe Logic has a similar thing going active all the time on it's faders? - since they added saturation algo in the feature that should (and is) clean and pure in every other DAW. This is bad in my book - if I want saturation, I will choose algorithm I like and add it myself, but from DAW I expect pure math and headroom of the 32bit floating point.
     
  4. Dewdman42

    Dewdman42 Senior Member

    1,759
    794
    Oct 28, 2016
    where do you get your information that Logic has analog mixing desk simulation going on?
     
  5. shomynik

    shomynik Active Member

    332
    120
    Aug 29, 2016
    Germany
    I'm talking about Gain feature in the inspector. It doesn't work like in PT (clip gain) or Cubase, but it behaves like an analog desk, more you push it, more saturation is introduced. (At least my friend's version behaved like this). In PT and Cubase you just get pure gain with no distortion. In Logic, that's obviously an analog console simulation that they call it Gain.

    But I'm not saying Logic has a similar thing on faders on 0. I'm not using Logic, I'm just wondering if they added this sim in the Gain feature, they might have done the same on faders as well, it would certainly explain why it sounds less bright. I don't know though.
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2019
  6. Dewdman42

    Dewdman42 Senior Member

    1,759
    794
    Oct 28, 2016
    which inspector are you referring to?

    I am unaware of any documented feature that does as you describe. There are countless ways to misuse a DAW into distortion, including not only LogicPro, but Cubase and others as well.
     
  7. James H

    James H 01001000 01101001

    253
    397
    Dec 20, 2018
    UK
    Must be a nightmare for Hans watching TV.
    Turn it off Mary!!! It was done in Logic.
    Urgh, that was an awful movie. The DAW added too much colour to soundtrack, I wanted to be sick.
    Poor Hans.
     
    Sarah Mancuso likes this.
  8. shomynik

    shomynik Active Member

    332
    120
    Aug 29, 2016
    Germany
    Might not be called Inspector, it's the track menu on the left with many controls. Try adding 30db of gain on low level audio (-40db signal for example). And I'm not speaking of converter clipping, there is no peaking above 0db digital scale.

    And I'm not sure, as far as I know, how you can missuse DAW into distortion except overloading DA converters which has nothing to do with DAW. Otherwise, when you see red lights (in Cubase) on faders, those are just indicators, there is no distortion if the master signal is below 0. In 32bit floating point there is 1500db of headroom.
     
  9. StefanoM

    StefanoM Ethera Man

    259
    371
    Apr 10, 2015
    Rome
    HI :)

    Yes, I mean exactly this ! Indeed it seems to me this.

    In a of totaly "nerd" moment I had done a lot of Tests in the past, with Cubase/Nuendo, ProTools HDX, and Logic.
    And the result was clear for me. For example 10 Tracks in the session , not using effects like reverbs, equalizers.( with same plug in ) and creating a simple "flat" mix with same values, pan law etc, and exported..., the null test was total. Each DAWs created a file that was canceled. But when the MIX started to be more complex, activating the sends, the groups, equalizers and plug ins (even the same), the null test failed. So I agree with you, when pushing the Daw engine, in these situations there is some differences, even the delay compensation management is different between the various Audio Engines. So also with many Virtual Instruments there could be differences. Maybe little phase differences, or I don't Know... which create this little audible differences.

    I remember that in the past this difference was even more audible.
    Now maybe a little less, but there's always something.

    Cheers


    Ste
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2019
    KallumS likes this.
  10. Dewdman42

    Dewdman42 Senior Member

    1,759
    794
    Oct 28, 2016
    I would be interested to see some example projects that demonstrate this
     
  11. Henu

    Henu Senior Member

    780
    885
    Nov 17, 2017
    Finland
    Pan law, bit depth (especially in plugins), converters. Also, the earth is flat because Hans Zimmer.
     
  12. Olivier1024

    Olivier1024 Member

    80
    55
    Mar 21, 2018
  13. dgburns

    dgburns splunge

    1,705
    534
    Nov 4, 2012
    I’m with you Alex, I hear the Logic difference. I can pick it out as well.

    I also notice that the difference goes away somewhat when you pull up your tracks into Protools. I noticed the biggest sonic difference came from Logic v7 to v8, I liked 7 more, I’m just resigned about it now.

    I’m not sure I would call Cubase simply brighter, it’s more robust somehow, more detail. I noticed it with Virus TI, and that’s not a plugin, but it might be an AU vs VST thing ??

    Is Logic even sample accurate midi to audio? I’m of the impression that when you make audio edits, it’s not sample accurate unless you check that little box to make phase accurate edits in the groups.

    But with real audio, I can get good results in Logic if I don’t over process, its the instruments that I find weaker sounding, IMVHO

    ( note to self, this post won’t be making me any friends over at Apple in the Logic dept, especially as I update to C10 right about now )
     
  14. babylonwaves

    babylonwaves Senior Member

    882
    548
    May 9, 2015
    that's a new one ...
     
    Sarah Mancuso and EgM like this.
  15. halfwalk

    halfwalk Member

    129
    240
    May 13, 2017
    Even if your audio nulls, your perception of it is still affected by brain chemistry, atmospheric conditions, time of day, lighting, mood, expectations, bias, quantum mechanics, priming from previous listens, blood pressure..

    There is no 100% objective listening. Your brain is lying to you every second. I say we just accept everything for what it is, and make music rather than null tests and marginal distinctions.
     
    stacever, 0cme, Sarah Mancuso and 2 others like this.
  16. sourcefor

    sourcefor Active Member

    284
    50
    May 1, 2011
    can you make your own key commands in CUBASE? Like in Logic!? And is there an advantage to me by switching to CUBASE from logic? I like the cross platform ability so i will NOT be tied to APPLE!
     
  17. BenG

    BenG Senior Member

    Yes
     
  18. germancomponist

    germancomponist Senior Member

    9,163
    929
    Jul 11, 2007
    Germany
    Cubase sounds better ..... . :-D
     
    dzilizzi likes this.
  19. Divico

    Divico Senior Member

    Highly doubt that. Pan law doesnt do a thing until you start panning things around. To be honest the only thing th pan law is good for is when you let stuff move with the pan pot.
     
  20. cmillar

    cmillar Active Member

    230
    136
    Jan 15, 2014
    FWIW....About 10-15 years ago I tried Logic 8 for awhile, but .... I switched back to Digital Performer, because I swear that I got more detailed sound coming from DP.

    I'll be taking advantage of the Cubase update, as I'm now a Steinberg fan due to loving Dorico and their iOS Cubasis...and, I don't want to keep on updating and switching Macs and OSX's....will get over to Windows 10 this years too.
     

Share This Page