Creating Video Game Music

Discussion in 'Composition, Orchestration & Technique' started by Mike Enjo, Mar 12, 2019.

1. Mike Enjo

Mike Enjo New Member

Feb 6, 2019
    Hi folks! This week I decided to get outside of my comfort zone and try writing some video game music. This kind of composition has some very specific requirements, and I really enjoyed having a go.

If you are thinking about, or already write game music, I'd love to get your feedback, and hear about your music!

Here's the video:

2. Hi, I've been making game music professionally, full time, for 19 years. I have held lectures about composing music for video games at the Royal Academy of Music as well as at School of Audio Engineering in Stockholm. I'll just say those things so you can at assume I know what I'm talking about.

They guy in the video you linked to has essentially made a trailer track that just matches how the video (which consists of cinematics from the game) is edited. There's nothing in what he does that has anything to do with what makes game music unique. He talks about melodies, counterpoint and instrumentation as if he had made certain choices within these areas because the music was supposed to be for a game.

^ Frankly, that doesn't make sense to me. The chords and harmonies that evoke certain emotions in, say, a movie score - will evoke the same emotions in a game score. Game music is no different from any other music in that regard.

What makes game music unique is how it's implemented in their context: Because games are interactive (non-linear), the music can and must adapt to what's happening on screen. In other words, the music must - just like the game - be interactive and change depending on choices made by the player (or outside forces affecting the player's situation) from second to second as they play the game.