What's new

Beginner talk: How can I try a demo of a sample library ?

ltrottier

Hi!

Beginner here. I am currently trying to produce uplifting trance music as a hobby of mine. I don't work in the music industry, but I always loved the genre, which mixes both synth and orchestral instruments. And over the last year, I challenged myself to learn music theory, piano, synth programming, DAW stuff, to be able to make music. So far, I made 1 song using the sonivox film score companion that I bought for the extremely cheap price of 30$ on a 90% sale.

It sounded incredible at first (hehe), but then I discovered the big players, spitfire, cinestrings, native instrument, orchestral tools, and all the million others (barely exaggerating). I realized how bad I needed a better library. So to understand what each library had to offer, I started watching review videos, reading forums and listening to the demo songs, because I could not find a way to try them for myself. Like a demo version of the library, with limitations / time period / sound muting for a couple seconds every now and then. Most synths or effect products that I found had that feature, which I loved because I could try them before buying. But I can't find that for sample libraries. Is it possible, and if no, why ?

I don't want to revert to alternative free ways to try them. I want to buy them to acknowledge the incredible efforts put into these amazing products. But if I can't try them, I don't see myself buying them. I don't have the guts to spend 400+ $ in the dark and hope for the best. And since Black Friday deals are pretty much now, I feel the pressure to commit.

Thanks!

Mike Fox

Never trust the living
if I can't try them, I don't see myself buying them. I don't have the guts to spend 400+ $ in the dark and hope for the best. And since Black Friday deals are pretty much now, I feel the pressure to commit.

Thanks!