What's new

Bartholomew's Demise

1millionJason's

Hi all, my first track to share with you. Of course it is a huge epic piece! This is called Bartholomew's Demise and is inspired by the death of the famous pirate Bartholomew Roberts aka. Black Bart. Watching Pirates of the Caribbean with my daughter last summer I decided to go for the the big Zimmer epic. Apparently Bartholomew was killed by the British warship "Swallow" in 1722 while anchored in Cape Lopez. His crew threw his breathless body in the sea according to his wishes in the event of his demise. This should be like scenes in a movie and hopefully you hear some rolling waves, big action, drunk pirates and a fulfilling death.
Eventhough I have a degree in music, I am fairly new to composing and do not have a ton of libraries yet. I simply use the East West composer cloud for now.
Thanks for listening.
Jason

Nice track! I've think you've done very well for the first track you are sharing. There's some limitations of the samples and the production, but still, it is interesting to listen to.

Thanks for your comment Mark, I definitely have more things to learn. It has been super tempting to spend $$$ on more libraries and plug-ins giving me more options. However my philosophy at the moment is to get better at composing and production with what I currently have as there is room for me to grow on both fronts. I suppose the other thing to mention outside of my own mixing and mastering abilities is this track is MP3 quality as I only have a free SoundCloud account.
Again, thsnks for taking the time to listen and comment.

That's a good focus, yes. There's a huge amount to learn before looking at alternative samples than EW provide. It's really just the woodwinds and solo strings where things suffer a bit with the CC products, and even then you should be able to get them sounding pretty good with practice. You don't need lots of libraries to get good results, so stick with that attitude.