What's new

At what volume should I set Kontakt, the sound card and the monitors ???

darkneo57

hi,

I am a beginner in computer music, the sound libraries I use have different volumes for the same velocity (pianos), I also have strings and brass and I'm making my first real template.

In Kontak I have set the volumes in relation to the sound clipping with a midi file with high velocities, so if I want to have an equal volume for the instruments, I have to compensate by lowering the volume of the loudest libraries and raising the volume of the sound card. I'm a professional musician, so I'm very careful with my ears, I don't want that by having to raise the volume of the sound card to equalize the volume, that an error creates a too loud sound. Currently the volume of my sound card (MOTU M4) is 50%, the volume of my monitors 50% too ( yamaha HS7 ), I'm on cubase 11, faders at 0. I think I should turn up the sound card volume up to 65%.

Is this setting common? Could you give me some information on how to set up the volume in your music studio?

Thank you, have a nice day

Sorry for my English, I am French.

Since you're setting up a template, you should go ahead and GAIN STAGE your tracks.

The easiest way to do this is load an instrument into an instance of Kontakt.

Set the fader of that track to 0db.

Play the instrument at it's loudest that you will ever use.

Check the meters on the track in your DAW.

Using Kontakt's Master Volume, adjust it so that the levels average at about -12db with the peak around -6db.

Kontakt-Mast-Vol.jpg

If the Master Volume isn't visible, click the highlighted button (top right) and turn it on.

NOTE: Some people prefer an average level of around -18db. I use a lot of analog modelled plugins and I've found they generally like a little hotter signal. It doesn't really matter.

Hi,

thank you very much for your response.
I'm sorry, I have several questions regarding your answer.