What's new

Ares Son of Zeus (Epic)

e-nemy

Epic for you! I'm new to this genre but I'm really loving everything about it.
Feedback appreciated, especially over mixdown. Still open to any other kinds of constructive feedback too.

Thanks guys!

dannymc

could you be more specific? are you looking for constructive feedback on the composition, arrangement, production, mixing etc etc?

Danny

OP
E

e-nemy

could you be more specific? are you looking for constructive feedback on the composition, arrangement, production, mixing etc etc?

Danny
Hey there.
Any of them, I'm all open to improvement. Especially how this will be the first track of many inspired by the Greek mythology theme. I'd rather work out the problems now then later. :)

I definitely know my main weakness is in mixing. So it'd be nice to hear pointers on that. But I'd also like to do better on the other areas too. Cheers for the reply.

tehreal

Welcome!

I've listened to your piece a couple of times now and here are my impressions:
  • The piece could really use more harmonic and melodic development/variance throughout (it mainly sits on one plane, idea-wise; almost like an attempt at "epic minimalism").
  • There's not much building in the piece. It's very binary in intensity (the latter half of the piece doesn't build to a climax and feels as if it's always at the climax and then suddenly ends).
  • The men singers' 2-3 pattern could be used more sparingly.
  • Instruments are used unconventionally to strange effect (drum rolls, wildly intervallic writing for the women singers). This isn't always a bad thing but it definitely distracted me.
  • Almost all parts rely on short articulations almost all the time.
Overall, great effort. My favorite part is :15-:22 and I think that harmonic progression could be developed/extended more and serve as the harmonic base for the A section of the song. Also the piano there is a really nice touch.