What's new

Anyone here recorded Live Orchestra in sections?

Spectator

Hi there,

Has anyone here recording live orchestral parts in sections?

everything separate, strings, brass, winds, harp, percussion etc etc

how does things work in terms of mixing with decca trees?

any mixing / audio examples?

thanks!

benatural

I've done it. I'm no mixing expert but what I did was take the tree from each section and blend them together. I got the idea to just use the tree mics from an Alan Meyerson interview where he mentioned that he just uses the tree. It keeps the imaging accurate and stable, and it's not unlike doing the same thing for your samples.

One caveat to know - recording sections increases the amount of editing and clean up work by an extreme amount. So if you're on a tight deadline, you may want to factor that in to your planning because it will be a significant burden.

I've done it. I'm no mixing expert but what I did was take the tree from each section and blend them together. I got the idea to just use the tree mics from an Alan Meyerson interview where he mentioned that he just uses the tree. It keeps the imaging accurate and stable, and it's not unlike doing the same thing for your samples.

One caveat to know - recording sections increases the amount of editing and clean up work by an extreme amount. So if you're on a tight deadline, you may want to factor that in to your planning because it will be a significant burden.
this is cool, so you just used the tree's for all sections and did you pan everything full LRC?

benatural

this is cool, so you just used the tree's for all sections and did you pan everything full LRC?
Yes exactly, I just kept the tree mix identical for most things. Well.... actually come to think of it, I did adjust the LCR mix slightly in different ways to expand the stereo width here and there. The project was about a year ago so it's coming back to me slowly.

bryla