What's new

Another attempt at orchestrating

shireen

I've been working on this for a few days. It started with me just playing around with CSSS but I kept on trying to make something of it, and, well, the result is a little messy I think, but overall I'm happy with it.

I think what I'm struggling with the most (in my view) is how to start a piece. Emotional piano arpeggios with some simple melody is the easiest way that comes to my mind, but I really do want something else -- The problem is that anything that I try just sounds off. Any tips on this? Do you start a composition with the intro, or leave it for later?

Another thing is the louder part with the brass. I'm trying to make it sound good but it feels just a bit empty, like it's missing a couple of instruments. Which instruments usually go with these loud brass parts? I know I'm being vague but that's what's so hard about this, I can't really put my finger on what it is that bothers me as I'm new to all of this.

Any tips are greatly appreciated! thank you :)

[AUDIOPLUS=https://vi-control.net/community/attachments/5-mp3.18640/][/AUDIOPLUS]

[AUDIOPLUS=https://www.vi-control.net/community/attachments/5-mp3.18640/][/AUDIOPLUS]

Attachments

TheSigillite

I pressed play and then read your post. lol. The piece follows your confusion/loss for what steps to take next very well. I know it wasn't intended but it works. As for your orchestration, I'm still learning myself, but it could use the warmth and air of woodwinds with more varied flavors of tuned percussion, of course this is very subjective. A great piece and I hope to hear it when it's complete. is the solo strings all CSSS?

OP
S

shireen